Skip to content

Another break from blogging

October 3, 2012

This time, to attend the Synod of Bishops in Rome as a peritus.

The topic chosen by the Holy Father for this Synod is the New Evangelization, a subject of especially close personal and professional interest to us at Sacred Heart Seminary in Detroit. It will be very exciting to watch the Synod of Bishops, an institution of what I call ‘structured collegiality’ (see 1983 CIC 342-348), grapple with matters that impact every aspect of the Christian mission today, and more than a little humbling to have been asked to assist in that undertaking. Oremus pro invicem!

As she left for summer camp one year, my little sister once said “Don’t have any fun while I’m gone!” In something of that same spirit, may I say, “Don’t do anything interesting while I’m gone, or at least, don’t do anything requiring canonical sorting-out while I’m gone.” Else, it won’t be till November that I can get to it!

Kind regards, edp.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.