Skip to content

Life is too short to learn German

August 2, 2012

So quipped Richard Porson (1759-1808), a famous English classicist. Some 100 million native speakers of German would disagree, of course, and in any case, German is one of the five principal research languages of canon law (after Latin, the most important modern languages for canonistics are English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish—though one could make a good case for adding Dutch, Polish, and/or Portuguese to that list). Remedying my lack of German has been on my to-do list for some years, and the opportunity to do something about it (namely, spending the three months in Vienna at a language school) came up this summer, in the company of my two college age kids, no less. So, that’s where I’ve been. We have all just returned, tired but happy,  Gott sei dank.

Amid the piles of correspondence awaiting me I see several notes from readers wondering, in light of the lack of updates to my blog and website, whether all is well. I thank them for their concern, and say only, Yes, all is quite well! I’ll just be a couple weeks getting caught up on things.

Bis dann!

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

